Official-source register

UAE tax and e-invoicing rule changes — 2026

Dates are decision issue dates or official announcement dates as labelled. Month-only references follow dated entries in that month; their day is unknown. FTA English decision PDFs are labelled unofficial translations by the FTA.

Last checked: .

— MoF announcement date; PDF signature date is blank

Ministerial Decision No. 197 of 2026

MoF

What changed

Amends e-invoicing exclusions, transmission deadlines and record retention, and repeals system-failure provisions.

Effective from / application

2026-10-01; same-VAT-group transaction exclusion runs for 24 months from 2027-01-01.

Official source / quotation

Official publication · Date source

Subject to Clause 4 of this Article, the Electronic Invoice or Electronic Credit Note referred to under Clauses 1 and 2 of this Article, must be issued and transmitted by the Issuer through the Electronic Invoicing System within fourteen (14) Business Days from the Date of Business Transaction.

Article Two, Article 6(5); subject to Article 6(4)

Last checked:

— MoF announcement date; issue day not stated in the PDF

Ministerial Decision No. 168 of 2026

MoF

What changed

Replaces the ASP accreditation framework and repeals Ministerial Decision No. 64 of 2025 and its amendments.

Effective from / application

2026-10-01

Official source / quotation

Official publication · Date source

Ministerial Decision No. 64 of 2025 on the Eligibility Criteria and Accreditation Procedure for Service Providers under the Electronic Invoicing System, and its amendments, shall be repealed.

Article 18; Article 20 for commencement

Last checked:

— Month of MoF presentation; decision and publication day not stated

Cabinet Decision No. 173 of 2026

UAE Cabinet; reference published by MoF

What changed

MoF lists CD 173/2026 for e-invoicing penalties and marks CD 106/2025 as repealed.

Effective from / application

Not verified; no commencement date or penalty amounts inferred from the presentation.

Official source / quotation

Official publication

Cabinet Decision No. 173 of 2026 Cabinet Resolution regarding eInvoicing Penalties
Cabinet Decision No. 106 of 2025 (Repealed)

October 2026 presentation, slide 10 (PDF page 10)

Official presentation reference only; decision text not located in the official sources checked.

Last checked: — decision text not published as at 2026-10-25

— Decision issue date

Federal Tax Authority Decision No. 17 of 2026

FTA

What changed

Sets conditions for input VAT recovery on specified goods and services provided to employees without charge.

Effective from / application

2026-10-01

Official source / quotation

Official publication

The provisions of this Decision shall apply to Taxable Persons when recovering or deducting the Input Tax incurred on the purchase of Goods or Services to be used by employees for no charge to them, where there is a contractual obligation or documented policy to provide such Goods or Services to those employees, in accordance with the provisions of Sub-clause 2 of Paragraph (c) of Clause 1 of Article 53 of Cabinet Decision No. 52 of 2017 referred to above.

Article 1; Article 2 contains category-specific conditions; FTA unofficial English translation

Last checked:

— Decision issue date

Federal Tax Authority Decision No. 15 of 2026

FTA

What changed

Sets Corporate Tax exemption application timelines and effective dates and repeals FTA Decision No. 7 of 2023.

Effective from / application

2026-09-15; tax periods commencing on or after 2023-06-01, for applications submitted on or after commencement.

Official source / quotation

Official publication

As an exception to Clause 1 of this Article, where the Person specified in paragraph (i) of Clause 1 of Article 4 of the Corporate Tax Law is eligible to apply for exemption with retrospective effect, that Person must apply for the exemption no later than: a. 31 December 2026 for Persons included in Cabinet Decision No. 55 of 2025 referred to above.

Article 3(2)(a); Articles 4-6 for repeal, application and commencement; FTA unofficial English translation

Last checked:

— MoF announcement date; consolidated regulation states issue date 2026-09-01

Cabinet Decision No. 149 of 2026

UAE Cabinet

What changed

Amends VAT rules on composite supplies, medical products, employee expenses, cash payments, capital assets and input tax apportionment.

Effective from / application

2026-10-01 generally; amended apportionment applies from the first tax year commencing after 2027-10-01.

Official source / quotation

Official publication · Additional official source

They also introduce provisions governing the VAT treatment of single composite supply in line with the economic substance of the supply, in addition to new provisions restricting the recovery of input tax in case of cash payments exceeding the thresholds to be prescribed in a decision issued by the Minister of Finance.

MoF announcement, paragraph on composite supply and cash payments

Last checked:

— Decision issue date

Ministerial Decision No. 131 of 2026

MoF

What changed

Extends Small Business Relief to tax periods ending on or before 31 December 2029.

Effective from / application

Day after publication; legal publication date not stated in the PDF.

Official source / quotation

Official publication

The threshold set out in Clause (1) of this Article shall apply to Tax Periods commencing on or after 1 June 2023 and such threshold shall continue to apply to subsequent Tax Periods that end on or before 31 December 2029.

Article One, p. 1

Last checked:

— Decision issue date

Federal Tax Authority Decision No. 13 of 2026

FTA

What changed

Sets supplier and supply verification measures before input VAT deduction, subject to the exceptions in Article 6.

Effective from / application

2026-10-01

Official source / quotation

Official publication

For the purposes of applying the provisions of Article 54(bis) of the VAT Law, the provisions of this Decision shall apply to the Taxable Persons in relation to the verification of the validity and integrity of the supplies they receive before deduction of Input Tax.

Article 2; Article 7 for commencement; FTA unofficial English translation

Last checked:

— Decision issue date

Federal Tax Authority Decision No. 12 of 2026

FTA

What changed

Sets Top-up Tax registration, deregistration and scope-notification timelines, including transitional deadlines.

Effective from / application

Fiscal years starting on or after 2025-01-01; decision effective from issue date under Articles 7-8.

Official source / quotation

Official publication

Notwithstanding Clause 1 of this Article, an Entity with a Fiscal Year ending before 30 April 2026 shall submit a Tax Registration application for Top-up Tax purposes on or before 30 November 2026.

Article 2(2); Articles 7-8 for application and commencement; FTA unofficial English translation

Last checked:

— Decision issue date

Federal Tax Authority Decision No. 4 of 2026

FTA

What changed

Sets completeness, legibility and access requirements for accounting records and commercial books, including copies.

Effective from / application

2026-07-30 (PDF heading; Article 5 links commencement to Gazette publication).

Official source / quotation

Official publication

The records and commercial books must be complete and identical to the original documents.

Article 2(1); FTA unofficial English translation

Last checked:

— MoF announcement date; PDF signature date is blank

Ministerial Decision No. 66 of 2026

MoF

What changed

Moves the ASP appointment deadline for in-scope persons with revenue of at least AED 50 million to 30 October 2026.

Effective from / application

Day after Official Gazette publication; Gazette date not stated in the PDF. Implementation remains due by 1 January 2027.

Official source / quotation

Official publication · Date source

(a) A Person subject to the Electronic Invoicing System and whose Revenue is equal to or exceeds AED 50,000,000 shall appoint an Accredited Service Provider by 30 October 2026 and shall implement the Electronic Invoicing System by 1 January 2027.

Article One, p. 1

Last checked:

Compiled by Brainy Tax from official MoF/FTA publications. Not legal or tax advice. Last checked: 2026-10-25.

What comes next

Keep in the loop.

Building a business in the UAE? Join the Brainy Tax waitlist for AI-assisted bookkeeping and tax-workflow software for UAE SMEs. Using these tools does not require joining.

To join, add your email address and choose launch updates, a pilot application, or both.

Founding-company pilot (optional)

Brainy Tax is AI-assisted bookkeeping and tax-workflow software, built for you or your accountant. You review and approve; your own authorised signatory files tax returns in EmaraTax. Founding companies use Brainy Tax free. The pilot has 5 to 10 places, and selection is not automatic.

Any details you choose to give here are used with your email address to assess eligibility for, and contact you about, the free Brainy Tax founding-company pilot. Do not include documents, bank statements, invoices, TRNs or exact amounts.

A whole number from 0 to 50.
Add an email address so we can contact you about your pilot application. Launch updates are optional and use the separate email checkbox above.

Your contact details are used only for your selected launch updates and, if you tick the pilot box, to assess and contact you about your pilot application. Launch updates are optional. Withdraw either permission or delete everything through your saved private management link, or email nico@brainy.ae. Withdrawal does not affect the lawfulness of earlier processing. Read our privacy notice before joining.